4-H clubs get the new year started

-A A +A
By Roberta Hunt

Several Washington County 4-H clubs kick off the new year with meetings next week. The 4-H Sharpshooters will meet on Monday, Jan. 14 at 6:30 p.m. at the extension office. The 4-H Spurs and Furs will meet on Tuesday, Jan. 15 at 6:30 p.m. at the extension office and the 4-H Food Stars will meet on the Wednesday, Jan. 16, from 3:30-5 p.m. at the extension office.
The Washington County Fair Board will meet on Thursday, Jan. 17 at 5 p.m. at the extension office. The fair board is open to new members that would like to help organize and conduct current fair activities and assist the fair board in moving toward additional county-wide fair events.

Over the next several weeks, results from the 4-H leaf collection project will be listed in the 4-H News. The students did an outstanding job on their projects. Here are the results from the Washington County Elementary School.

Mrs. Abell’s Class: Champion – Kennedy Chesser; Reserve Champion – Alexis Burton; second runner up – Aleeyah Salazar. Honorable mentions include Lindsay Carney, Caleb Foster, Eli Hinton, Olivia Lawson, Alex Ritchie, Will Thompson and Keyava Trigg. Receiving blue ribbons are Olivia Bartley, Nathanial Chesser, Jadin Coleman, Emma Hamilton, Cateline Hayden, Logan Hill, Jarrett Hutchins, Zhao Yi Lin, JT McCarty, Wyatt Sallee, Katie Spencer and Ty Thompson. Red ribbons went to Gracelyn O’Rafferty, Andres Perez and Cole Perkins. Christian Chesser received a white ribbon.

Mrs. Smith’s Class: Champion – Mary Jane Wilkerson; Reserve Champion – Chris Thorton; receiving honorable mention were Blake Arnold, Brady Lawson, Caleb Martinez, Danielle Ray, Sydney Soileau and Margaret Stevens. Receiving blue ribbons are Elise Barry, Ethan Coleman, Blake Coulter, Ashlee Grimes, Lily Hildalgo, Ben Hill, Amelia Kirzinger, Cesar Martinez, Tyler Rainwater, Shay Tingle and Charlie Votaw. Red ribbons were won by Axel Ellis, Indaria Spalding and Eli Young. James Matherly, Nicholas Borders and Emma Spalding received white ribbons.

Mrs. Metcalf’s Class: Champion – Jasmine Baker; Reserve Champion – Molly Lewis; second runner Up – Delaney Mattingly. Honorable mentions went to Adam Bunch, Mackenzie Coulter, Matthew Miles, Colin Sparrow and Ja’Vontae Wright. Receiving blue ribbons were Tyler Ashlock, Chloe Carrico, Selena Davis, Savannah Edelen, Anthony Grimes, Walker Settles, Marisa Thompson and Seirra Ward. Red ribbons were won by Michael Ellery, Hailee Maddox, Cheyanna Mudd, Christiana Quintana, Ajada Weathers, Junior Woods and Jayden Yocum. White ribbons went to Aaron Burton, Malik Locke and Justin Royse.