4-H: Young Riders accepting new members, forestry winners from St. D, NWES named

-A A +A
By Roberta Hunt

One of the most important issues that the 4-H horse program teaches is responsible care and nutrition of horses.  This and other related topics are part of the six educational hours that each member must achieve in order to participate in any competitive aspect of the Kentucky 4-H horse program.  Washington County youth, ages 9-18 are invited to join the Washington Co. 4-H Young Riders in their adventures in the equine industry that will include field trips, horse camp and other exciting opportunities.  The club meets the third Monday of each month with the next meeting taking place on Jan. 21 at 7 p.m. at the Washington County Extension Office.  Youth do not have to own a horse since many projects including quiz bowl, horse judging, hippology, horse photography, crafts and much more do not require horse ownership.  For more information on the 4-H horse program, contact the Washington County Extension Office at 336-7741.

St. Dominic leaf winners
St Dominic Fourth Grade – Leaf Print: Champion – Jacob Yates; Reserve Champion – Jack Matherly; First Runner Up – Fran Taylor; and Second Runner Up – William Mattingly. Honorable Mentions went to Abigail Brady, Samuel Cecconi, Joseph Dean, Travis Mudd, Thomas Murphy, Hagan Taylor and Justin Tirabasso. Receiving blue ribbons were John Brown, Joshua Burkhead,  Brent Edelen, Elizabeth Hale, Nathan Hodgens, Haley Smith, Rachel Smith, Abby Warner, Benjamin Whitney and Logan Wilson.

St Dominic Fourth Grade Leaf Collections: Champion – Jack Matherly; Reserve Champion – Fran Taylor; Blue – Logan Wilson

St Dominic Fifth Grade Leaf Collections: Champion – Anne Claire Smith;  Reserve Champion – Belle Begley. Honorable Mentions were received by  Madeline Borders, Mason Boone, Joshua Curtsinger, Grant Hilton, Mary Medley, Catherine Mulholland and Grant Satterly. Blue ribbons went to Patrick Arnold, Cameron Bonzo, Richard Libby, Abigail Mattingly, Madelyn Sagrecy and Hannah Willis. Receiving red ribbons were Elizabeth Carrico and Mary Hughes.

North Washington leaf winners
Mrs. Burns’ Class: Champion – Luke Peavler; Reserve Champion – Anna Clay Davis; Honorable mentions – Natalie Baker, Sarah Boblitt, Nathan Bradley, Sonja Clontz, Mary Coulter, Payton Fauth, Emily Mattingly, Abigail Russell, Waylon Stone, Trevor Trent, Jael Waldridge and Kandice Walker. Blue ribbons went to Alexa Black, Cole Lewis, Joshua McCue, Makenzie Purdom and Austin Sias.

Ms. Mudd’s Class: Champion – Kaitlyn Derringer; Reserve Champion – Conrad Gaona; Honorable mentions – Justin Gabhart, Hannah Lewis, Luz Perez, Zachary Rakes, Madison Ryen, Elaina Shepherd, Ethan Warren, Andrew Wren and Alaina Hess. Blue ribbons were received by Wesley Bollinger, Alexis Chesser, Kristopher Hicks, Cole Miller and Emily Spears. A red ribbon went to Jasmine Coulter.

Mrs. Pickett’s Class: Champion – Isaiah Montgomery; Reserve Champion – Devin Johnson; Honorable mentions – Darrol Byrd, Lauren Coulter, Shelby Eager, Cole Hannon, Ethan Speer, Eddie Thompson and Lilly Turner. Blue ribbons were received by Dylan Barr, Kimberly Beazley, Dallas Chesser, Lathan Cloyd, Paige Merriman, Jasmine Mattingly, Heather Scott, Emily Sester and Trinity Wright.