4-H youth fair is this Friday and Saturday

-A A +A
By Roberta Hunt


4-H members work hard all year to complete projects, whether it is using their hands to make a skirt or woodworking project, showing an animal or presenting a speech.

Many 4-H members will be competing or will be honored for their achievements over the coming weeks and the honors they receive will be shared.
The 4-H Youth Fair will be this Friday and Saturday. On Saturday, the public is invited to come at 10 a.m. to the Washington County Extension Office to see projects 4-H members have completed. Youth and parents alike can enjoy petting animals, sponsored by the 4-H Spurs and Furs Club, and they would love everyone to stay for lunch. For more information on the 4-H Youth Fair, contact the extension office at 336-7741.
This week’s column will include results from the 4-H Talk Meet held at St. Dominic Elementary last week. Next week will be the results from Washington County Elementary. The students have been so impressive with their speaking skills. The champion and reserve champions from each classroom will advance to the County-wide Talk Meet scheduled for Thursday, May 3.
Last week I announced the results from the 4-H Poetry Contest. Our top poets advanced to the District 5 competition, which included entries from 18 counties.  The District 5 Junior Division Champion was none other than Washington County 4-H member, Katya Melgoza.  
Members of the 4-H Young Riders just returned from the District 5 Horse Camp held at the Casey County Fairgrounds this past weekend. They now will be heading to the District 5 Horse Show in May to qualify for the state show in June at the Kentucky State Fairgrounds in Louisville.
4-H talk meet results from St. Dominic Elementary fourth grade
Champion - Mary Medley;  Reserve Champion – Grant Satterly; Honorable Mentions – Abigail Mattingly and Maddy Sagrecy; Lucky Blue – Sam Isaacs.  Receiving blue ribbons were Patrick Arnold, Belle Begley, Cameron Bonzo, Mason Boone, Madeline Borders, Elly Carrico, Joshua Curtsinger, Grant Hilton, Jake Hood, Mary Claire Hughes, Will Isaacs, Joey Libby, Catherine Mulholland, Anne Claire Smith and Hannah Willis.
Fifth grade
Champion – Elizabeth Riley; Reserve champion – Peyton Young; Honorable Mentions – Kate Moore and Kendall Tirabasso; Lucky Blue – Tyler Smith. Receiving blue ribbons were Noah Abell, Rebekah Barnett, Andrea Clements, Gracie Graves, Paul Haydon, Elyssa Hodgens, Justus Hood, Devin Hurst, Allie Mattingly, Trey Mudd, Tatum Smith, Taylor Smith, Olivia Spalding, Ben Taylor, Kate Taylor, Cameron Willis and Drew Yates.
Sixth grade
Champion – Luke Abell; Reserve champion – Cleo Isaacs; Honorable Mentions – Reed Breunig and Sarah Downs; Lucky Blue – Alex Wharton. Receiving blue ribbons were Rachel Begley, Avery Black, Seth Carrico, Megan Fields, Anna Hamilton, Madison Hilton, Danielle Stevenson, Jami Taylor, Landon Taylor and Jack Wheatley.
Seventh grade
Champion – Mackenzie Dean; Reserve Champion – Anne Tayler Redmon; Honorable Mentions – Elizabeth Medley and Carsyn Kidwell; Lucky Blue – Dakota Edelen. Receiving blue ribbons were Thomas Bartley, Bailey Settles, Noah Hutchins, Teresa Fenwick, Brian Mendoza, Ashley Yates, Morgan Tirabasso, Anne Thomas Fallis, Matthew Burkhead, Jordan Wheatley, Curry Haydon, Jacob Curtsinger, Jim Cecconi, Beth Osbourne, Emily Hall, Jesus Hernandez and Ryan Linton.
Eighth grade
Champion – Aaron Robinson; Reserve Champion – Jennifer Hamilton; Honorable Mentions – Elizabeth Montgomery and Trevor Sagrecy; Lucky Blue – Reno Boone.  Receiving blue ribbons were Jenny Begley, Daniel Downs, Jacob Graves, Evan Mattingly, Lauren Mattingly, Luis Hernandez, Jesse Smith, Mark Grider, Jack Breunig, Mary Beth Begley, Morrison Smith, Mirelle Taylor, Isaacs Yates, Samuel Harmon, Hayley Smith, Thomas Smith, Michael Wheatley and Hamilton Young.