April is Child Abuse Prevention Month

-A A +A
By Special to The Sun

A small committee of Washington County Homemakers has been meeting since the beginning of the year, with help from former committee chairwoman, Pat Sutton, who due to health reasons has been unable to participate.

The focus of the committee is to reach as many countywide as possible. With this in mind, Marilyn Peters, art teacher at Washington County High School, will again have her students participating in a poster contest. Last year the entries were very thoughtful and meaningful.

Betty Brookfield, art professor at St. Catharine College will provide the judges from her art class students. The posters will be on display again at the Opera House. Winners will receive monetary prizes donated by county homemakers. Prizes will be the same as last year, $25 for first place, $15 for second and $10 for honorable mention. Ribbons will also be given to participants.

Sarah Raikes, Family Consumer science teacher at the high school, will promote child abuse prevention the entire month through classes she teaches and an after school club. The students will be wearing the blue arm bracelets and ribbons to draw attention and spread the word among students and throughout the community.

The House of Hope will also aid the committee spreading the word and providing information to inform their clients of help available to avoid child abuse.

Judge John Settles again signed a proclamation making April the month for Child Abuse Prevention and hanging our child abuse banner from the old courthouse.

The child’s old-fashioned pinwheel is the symbol for child abuse prevention, as well as the blue ribbon. That is the symbol of prevention used in the barn quilt hung at a ceremony several years ago. This barn quilt hangs on a barn at Johnny and Elaine Coyle’s residence on Hwy 150 Bypass.

If you are interested in more information, check the web page pcaky.org for information and statistics. Check BLUE SUNDAY.org if you would like information for church programs and ideas.

The committee, small as it is, includes: Mary Ann Maker, Mary Paul Edelen, Peggy Noel, Marsha Lanham, Sherry Hatchett and Susan Breeding.

Kentucky Child Abuse provided all information used and distributed.

Information submitted by Susan Breeding,  336-0048