County leaf collection winners announced, advance to state fair

-A A +A
By Roberta Hunt

This week you will find more leaf collection results from Washington County Elementary and Fredericktown Elementary schools. The leaf collections have all been returned and I have to say these were some of the best leaf collections I’ve seen.

Our Overall County Winner from the fourth grade was Danielle Wilkerson of St. Dominic. Noah Harmon of North Washington was the Overall County Winner from the fifth grade.

These collections will be going to the state fair in August. Also, in strong contingency were Elizabeth Smith (WCES) and Jordan Wheatley (St. Dominic) both fouth graders and Thomas Smith and Mary Beth Begley of St. Dominic, both fifth graders. We had numerous 100 percents and had to revise our judging system so these collections could be recognized. So, congratulations to all of you!

WCES 4th Grade

Mrs. Abell’s Class

Champion – Elizabeth Smith, Reserve Champion – Nick Carney, Honorable Mentions – Michael Chastain, Emily Rainwater, Blue Ribbons – Shawn Bartley, Jerry Dickerson, Anterius Edelen, Lakynn Hodgens, Spencer Langford, Julian Lopez, Kelsey Murphy, Trevor Shumate, Patrick Tennill, Quinten Turner, Anne Waits, Kaitlyn Yates, DT Yocum. Red Ribbons – Noelia Ayala, Nick Mann. White Ribbons – Andrianna Boswell, Austin Elliott, Naomi Ritchey.

Mrs. Metcalf’s Class

Overall Champion – Vinny Marrinan, Reserve Champion – Levi Smith, Class Champion – Abby Haydon. Honorable Mention – Emma Lawson. Blue ribbons – Gunner Borders, Chyna Brown, John Bugg, Isaiah Campbell, Zachary Couch, Steven Curtsinger, Matthew Fenwick, Shylan Key, Will Lenz, Alonta Linton, Ryan Linton, Devon Osbourn, Destiny Phillips, Joseland Sallee, Gabriel Smith, Amber Warren, and Keion Wright. Red Ribbons – Nicole Coleman, Dora Lozano, Kristen Murphy, Emma Phelps, and Kimberlee Smith

Fredericktown Elementary School

Champion – Tyler Ronald, Reserve Champion – Erin Taylor, Blue – Victoria Hamilton, Red – Elizabeth Rice