Election day was mostly for the incumbents

-A A +A

Turnout was high, but not as high as 2008

By Jesse Osbourne


Roughly 5,300 of the county’s approximately 8,350 registered voters (63 percent) showed up to the polls for last Tuesday’s general election. The last presidential election in 2008 drew 5,438 voters.

Washington County remained red like the majority of Kentucky, as Mitt Romney defeated Barack Obama 3,495 to 1,669.
Romney drew more votes than John McCain (3,305) in the 2008 election, while Obama garnered less votes in the county than in his initial campaign (1,890).    
In the 1st Congressional District race, Republican-incumbent Ed Whitfield defeated Democrat Charles Hatchett 121-80.
Whitfield represents the Pottsville precinct, a small portion of the county. His congressional district is largely based in Western Kentucky.
Republican-incumbent Brett Guthrie defeated three challengers to retain his seat in the 2nd Congressional District race.
Guthrie had 2,962 votes to beat Democrat David Lynn Williams (1,546), Independent Andrew R. Beacham (93) and Libertarian Craig R. Astor (50).
The congressman lost in Washington County to David E. Boswell in 2008. The incumbent picked up more votes this time around, despite a slightly smaller district and more challengers.
Republican-incumbent Mike Harmon defeated Democrat Barry Harmon in a closely-watched race for state representative.
Harmon, the incumbent, defeated Harmon, the challenger, by a 3,204 to 1,900 margin. The race was closer in Boyle County, which is also represented by Harmon, but the incumbent still won, 6,278 to 5,911.
In an unopposed race, Democrat Shelly Sprague Miller was elected to serve as Commonwealth’s Attorney for the 11th Judicial Circuit. Miller replaces Tim Cocanougher, who stepped down from the office. She received 3,002 votes.
Democrat JoAnne Mudd-Miller was elected circuit clerk in an unopposed election. She replaces George Graves, who retires at the end of the year.
Mudd-Miller won the Democratic primary in May and faced no Republican opposition for the position in the general election. She received 3,418 votes.
Patsy R. Lester was re-elected as a school board member in the 3rd Educational District. Lester ran unopposed. She received 403 votes.
Julita Nance beat incumbent Buffy Tingle Mann and former board member Bud Blair to gain a seat on the school board in the 4th Educational District.
Nance collected 419 votes, enough to beat Mann’s 266 and Blair’s 256.
Pat Clements was re-elected in the 5th Educational District, as he ran unopposed. He received 712 votes
Robin Cochran, Nathan Cochran, Linda Anderson and Heather Reynolds ran unopposed for four seats on the Mackville City Commission.
Robin and Nathan Cochran tied with 71 votes each, while Reynolds collected 68 votes and Anderson tallied 60.
The race for Springfield City Council was decided by 69 votes, as seven candidates vied for seven seats.
Incumbents Lisa J. Haydon (832), Debbie Wakefield (801), Carolyn Hardin (788), John “Willie” Ellery (771) and Brooke Murphy Coulter (680) kept their positions, while John R. Hardin (667) narrowly defeated Chris Essex (598).
John Hardin rejoins the council after serving for over 20 years previously. He carried every precinct over Essex except for City Hall, which Hardin lost by six votes.
In the Willisburg city commissioner race, Bruce Barr (112), John Kirsch (104), Ricky Settles (81) and Rea G. Byrd (70) were the victors. Rea Byrd had one more vote than her husband, Myron. The couple tied at the polling place with 67 votes each, but Rea had one more absentee vote than Myron (three to two).
In the vote for the constitutional amendment, 3,798 voters (89 percent) cast a ‘yes’ vote, while 472 cast a ‘no’ vote.