Eight vying for city council

-A A +A
By Nick Schrager

Eight people are vying for six spots on the Springfield City Council.

Incumbents John “Willie” Ellery, Chuck Polin, Brooke Murphy Coulter, Carolyn Hardin, Lisa Jones Haydon and Chris Essex have two challengers in November. They are Jason C. Hilton and Vhonda Barlow.

Springfield Mayor Debbie Wakefield is running unopposed.

In Willisburg, Mayor Wanda K. Thompson is being challenged by Myron Byrd. Running for Willisburg City Council are Ricky Settles and Rea Byrd.

If you subscribe to the newspaper, you receive FREE access to all the exclusive content of the web site! Simply register to receive uninterrupted access to our award-winning and in-depth local online content!

Renew Current or Past Subscription / Register for Online Subscription

If you currently subscribe or have subscribed in the past to the The Springfield Sun, then simply find your account number on your mailing label and enter it below.

Click the question mark below to see where your account ID appears on your mailing label.

Newspaper Acct. ID:
Street Address:
(exactly as it appears on the label)

If you are a subscriber and you do not know your account ID or don't have a copy of your newspaper available that shows the information on the address label you can click continue below to search for your account.

Special Offer

You have used all your free page views for the month however if you wish to create a FREE limited access account you will be able to view a additional 2 pages per month.

You can also purchase a subscription and have full access to the site. To purchase a subscription simply enter your zipcode below

ZIP Code:

The Springfield Sun | circulation@thespringfieldsun.com | 859-336-3716
108 Progress Drive, Springfield, Ky. 40069
Office Hours: Monday-Friday 8 a.m. to 4 p.m; Except Tuesday is 8 a.m. to 1 p.m.