Sun college hoops bracket winners announced

-A A +A


The tournament is over, and Connecticut is the national champion of the men's college basketball tournament.

With that news also comes the announcement of winners of The Springfield Sun's reader contest. Points were awarded for correct picks in each round of the tournament, and the overall winner will receive $100, while the second-place finisher will receive $50.

This year's overall winner, with a total of 465 points, is Phillip Clarkson of Lebanon. Clarkson selected Connecticut as the overall winner, and will receive $100.

Second place goes to Joan Gardner-Mattingly of Loretto. She had Connecticut playing in the championship game, but predicted that Kansas would win the championship. She scored a total of 350 points, and will receive a check for $50.

Prize money will be mailed to the winners. Thanks to all who played!