WCHS principal wants to be among first to act

-A A +A
By Brandon Mattingly

Since Gov. Steve Beshear signed the graduation bill (Senate Bill 97) in March, each school district has the option of raising the high school dropout age from 16 to 18 years old.

Eventually, the entire state will be forced to adopt the change, but Washington County High School Principal Paul Terrell would like to see his district to be among the first to take action.

“My hope is that as soon as we can, we make the change,” he said. “We need to move in that direction as quickly as we can, so students won’t have the option to drop out at 16.”

If you subscribe to the newspaper, you receive FREE access to all the exclusive content of the web site! Simply register to receive uninterrupted access to our award-winning and in-depth local online content!

Renew Current or Past Subscription / Register for Online Subscription

If you currently subscribe or have subscribed in the past to the The Springfield Sun, then simply find your account number on your mailing label and enter it below.

Click the question mark below to see where your account ID appears on your mailing label.

Newspaper Acct. ID:
Street Address:
(exactly as it appears on the label)

If you are a subscriber and you do not know your account ID or don't have a copy of your newspaper available that shows the information on the address label you can click continue below to search for your account.

New Subscription/30 Day Free Trial Account

If you are new to the award winning The Springfield Sun and wish to get a subscription or simply gain access to our online content then please enter your ZIP code below and continue to setup your account.

ZIP Code:

Create a limited access account.
Register to participate in community forums, post on the community calendar, blog etc. This registration does not give you full access to read our award winning content, etc.

The Springfield Sun | circulation@thespringfieldsun.com | 859-336-3716
108 Progress Drive, Springfield, Ky. 40069
Office Hours: Monday-Friday 8 a.m. to 4 p.m; Except Tuesday is 8 a.m. to 1 p.m.